April 17, 2009

Warning Godaddy password scam email

Recently received an email from Godaddy which is a password scam, I only noticed it when it directed me to Godadidy.com the e-mail and the website is exactly the same as Godaddy.

So beware always check the where the link direct to, and be alert when you have a login error.

Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)Thursday, 16 April, 2009 10:14 PM
From: "accountupdate@godaddy.com"


*****************************************
Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)
*****************************************


it is that time of year again. ICANN(the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) annually requires that all accredited registrars (like Go Daddy) ask their domain administrators/registrants to review domain name contact data, and make any changes necessary to ensure accuracy. According to our records you are the ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT for one or more domains registered at GoDaddy.com, Inc. as of September 3rd, 2008.

To review/update your contact data, simply:
+ Login to https://dcc.godaddy.com/default.aspx?isc=ICANN0908a&ci=8987
+ You will be taken to a landing page and asked to enter your Domain Information Key:
574729B6-D558-4315-874B-09B9C010554B
+ Enter your key and click "Submit code"

If, however, your domain contact information is inaccurate, you must correct it. (Under ICANN rules and the terms of your registration agreement, providing false contact information can be grounds for domain name cancellation.) To review the ICANN policy, visit: http://www.icann.org/whois/wdrp-registrant-faq.htm

Should you have any questions, please email us at support@godaddy.com or call our customer support line at (480) 505-8877.

Thanks for your attention and thank you for being a GoDaddy.com, Inc. customer.

Sincerely,
GoDaddy.com, Inc. Domain Support


If you are the domain administrator of more than one GoDaddy.com domain account, you may receive this notice multiple times.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Copyright (c) 2008 GoDaddy.com, Inc. All rights reserved.

The real joke is Godaddy's abuse team told me it's genuine? Twice! so I had checked the whois :

Domain Name: GODADIDY.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: NS1.TEHRANWAREZ.COM
Name Server: NS2.TEHRANWAREZ.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 14-apr-2009
Creation Date: 09-apr-2009
Expiration Date: 09-apr-2010


What does it take to have domain security around here.

7 comments:

  1. why u bother to use that site still
    ReplyDelete
  2. Well because it's the cheapest, since I have to renew hundreds of domains every month, it saves quite a bit.

    Unless you can recommend me a competitive alternative:)
    ReplyDelete
  3. Actually fabulous reseller accounts offer the cheapest rates. Yea godaddy is a joke
    ReplyDelete
  4. Hello Takwa,
    Thanks for the heads-up. I try to never click a link thru an email anymore for this very reason. I am guessing that the person at godaddy did not quite understand the issue, since they have been sending many of these same messages to me as well.
    ReplyDelete
  5. I just got this email so it is a scam or not.
    ReplyDelete
  6. In the email if there's a link https://dcc.godaddy.com/default.aspx?isc=ICANN0908a&ci=8987 then it's a scam as the real one don't have a link implanted.

    You can double check by clicking on the link, and see if the directed page is to Godaddy.com, if it's to Godadidy.com or anything else, it's a scam.
    ReplyDelete
  7. godaddy,godaddy anywhere interesting information..But recently i purchased Domain name for my website in tucktailit is reseller of godaddy.com site
    ReplyDelete